Need some Openhab settings for a magnetic contact

Hi,
Could anyone please help me with some Openhab settings (items, sitemap and rules) for a door or window magnetic contact?
I now what I ask maybe sounds stupid but I’m very new in OH and I couldn’t find an example here on this community!
All I need is to display the state of a magnetic contact in OH if the door or the window is open or closed.
The Arduino code that I would like to use is the one from MySensors for the button actuator (here: http://www.mysensors.org/build/binary)
Any suggestion will be kindly appreciated.
Thank you.

I don’t think you have provided enough information.

What is the physical makeup of your system? How are you wiring up the sensor and how are you reporting the status to openHAB? For example, do you have an Arduino wired to the sensor with a wireless shield or device reporting the status over the network or are you running openHAB on a Raspberry Pi or some other computer with GPIO pins?

These answers are important because they will dictate how openHAB is to be configured.

I’m guessing that you are planning on using an Arduino based on your link to the Arduino code. However, the code you linked to is only half of the problem. You still need to get the sensed data into openHAB which doesn’t run on an Arduino. I’m in the process of using this approach in my system which consists of Arduinos wired to sensors that report their readings using an RMF69 transceiver to report to a Raspberry Pi with its own RMF69 transceiver which takes the reading and reports them to openHab using MQTT. So from an openHAB perspective I configure some Contact items that use the MQTT binding to get their values.

For example:

Contact N_D_Front "Front Door [MAP(en.map):%s]" <frontdoor> { mqtt="<[mosquitto:entry_sensors/main/front_door:state:default]" }

Another approach is to use RS485 transceivers and the Souliss Arduino binding.