Networking not working

I am a long-time debian developer (since 2001) (arm ports) and embedded linux person so I have a reasonable idea what I am doing but I know almost nothing about openhab or the rpi series for that matter.

I installed it on an SD card and booted a PI4, (and once I worked out that you get nothing on the serial port and need to go find a microHD ->HDMI adaptor, I got stuff on the screen. It booted up but the firstboot script all failed due to being at work with an unauthorised MAC address so it had no network access.
Took it home and rebooted an the firstboot script ran OK and I got a prompt.
But the suggested ‘go to openhabian:8080’ got no connection.
Investigation (ip a) showed that no IP address was allocated.

What I really want to know is what network tools should I be using. I’m old fashioned so default to /etc/network/interfaces and ifupdown, but recognise that thee days it’s usually NetworkManager or connman or systemd-networkd at least ip rather than ifconfig, and maybe iwd or just wpa_supplicant. KNowing which tools to examine would help.
weirdly doing ifup eth0 says ‘unknonw interface’ but ip a shows:
lo (configured, as expected), eth0 and wlan0. both in state DOWN.
sudo ip link set eth0 up
gives no output, but ip a still says ‘state DOWN’. And in fact I have
2: eth0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> …
But both LEDs come on when the cable is plugged in and I get an LED on the switch, so that means there is a carrier doesn’t it?

The docs: at openHABian | openHAB
say " When your openHABian box does not get Internet connectivity through either Ethernet or WI-Fi (if configured), openHABian will launch a Hotspot."
but I can’t connect to that either. Is there a command-line way to check if it thinks it is in this state. I see mention of a wifi dongle, does that mean that the Pi4 does not have wifi built-in so this only applies with an add-on board?

I can probably get to the bottom of this eventually, but clues welcome.