New Aeotec 3-in-1 Door/Window Sensor

Just released. The new switch has a

magnetic contact, dry contact relay, and a tilt sensor. 40% smaller than previous generation at only 2.8”x0.75”x0.7” (main body) Best battery life, optimised to use up to 66% less battery power to communicate than previous generations. 3 year+ battery life powered by 1 x 1/2 AA battery

Amazon - Aeotec Door/Window Sensor 7, Z-Wave Plus S2 Smart Start, 3-in-1 with Dry Contact & Tilt sensors, 3 Year Battery Life, White

Are you volunteering to buy one and add it to the zwave device database?

Ha no, I am not that smart! Just sharing news since Aeotec makes a lot of Z-Wave products people use here. I am just a novice user.

1 Like

I think I am just graduating from newbie to novice, but I have added to the zwave database and just last night tested my first entry released in a snapshot.
I usually use cheaper Chinese stuff, so far.

1 Like

I have a previous version of the Aeotec door/window sensor. It is the Gen 5 model. I skipped on Aeotec in my motion sensor roundup thread because a number of users reported less then excellent results from the Aeotec Multisensor 6 and also the previous gen as well… and they are not cheap. I none the less, wanted to try a product from Aeotec and needed a door sensor and purchased the above named model. I am pleased with how it works and it is down at the bottom of a stairwell where other door sensors had occasionally dropped off the network. It was also only $30
It seems to me battery life is good with door/window sensors because they only need to transmit when the door opens where as motion sensors fire much more often. Powered by two AAA batteries it is at least 6 or 8 months old running the batteries that came in it and still reporting 92% battery level.
Literature for my sensor claims one year battery life average. This new sensor claims 3 years powered by the same two AAA batteries. some impressive optimization must have be done.