Newbie question; how to add z-wave devices to OH3 database?

• Platform information:
    • openHAB version: 3.1

Hi,
I am new to OH and this question may have been answered many times before but I struggle to figure out how this works.

I have a “Namron Z-Wave Switch 16A 4512746” (https://www.elektroimportoren.no/namron-z-wave-switch-16a/4512746/Product.html). This device, and many other Namron devices are not in the database. This are used by many, at least in Norway. How can I get such devices added to the OH3 database?

The database can be viewed at OpenSmartHouse Z-Wave Device Database

On that page you will also find a link to the Database Users Guide which will go through the steps of getting an account and edit access to the database as well as adding a new device.

Hi, Thanks. I checked the database for all Namron products and I saw there a device I have but I cannot make it work (OpenSmartHouse Z-Wave Device Database)

When I add it to OH3 (Rpi 4 and Aeotech USB stick) it appears to be unknown with no channels recognized. It appears to me to be added in march 2021. I have installed the RPi-image with OH3 preinstalled. Is there something I need to update? I am pretty familiar with debian and the linux-part is updated.

First I think it was added in August, not March. There are two possible problems. One the zwave binding may predate when the device was added. Second as a battery device, it may need to be rewoken a number of times to be configured with channels.

On the openhab-cli console run bundle:list -s and look for the date on the zwave binding. If before August, need to update. I think you can add to the latest build in addons, but may need to update Xstream

Bob

Edit: the other option is to upgrade to 3.2 milestone 4. That should cover all the bases.

Hi.
Did you actually manage to find the Z-Wave Switch 16A you mentioned in the database?
I’m looking for the exact same device and I cannot find it there… wonder if I missed something.