Newbie: which version of Ubuntu for installing OpenHAB?

Hello,

I am new to the OpenHab community and I want to start my little DIY project :slight_smile:

If I go to Ubuntu website, https://www.ubuntu.com/download you can find different versions of Ubuntu… desktop, server, cloud etc…

Being a newbie I was wondering which version id better for OpenHAB: desktop o server?

Many Thanks

Regards

Ivan

On which hardware do you wont to install oH?

starting some test with a VirtualBox 5.2.16 but planning to install everythgin in RPi3… :stuck_out_tongue:

I you have the raspi use openHABian. It’s very easy.

1 Like

will it work also on VirtualBox? and sorry, but where I can find it to download? :stuck_out_tongue:

No, it’s a special version for raspi.
All what you need, you can find in the documentation. See the link above.

I did this recently on unbuntu. I used the server version as you don’t need a desktop.

The key dependency for using Ubuntu was the java version. Openha b only plays well with certain javas .

I do highly suggest buying a pi and just use ooenhabian. The ease of install is worth every penny you spend on the pi. This is coming from me a 20yr vet of linux and many years get of openhab.

If you do go with vbox and ubuntu. There are a few tricks, so beware. The java was one for me, the second was vbox itself. I had to configure network in the gui to slow for access to the openha b server. Those were the two big challenges for me but works great after setup.

Thanks @Thedannymullen

my knowledge of oH is very limited… but why openHABian cannot be installed in VBox? isn’t just a “custom version of Linux”? apology if what I have written is stupid :stuck_out_tongue:

There is a ?|“manual Setup” section which seems to work for any linux installation… no?

If you have expert knowledge with linux, you can use vbox, if not you should use openHABian with raspi (or pine).