OpenHab as a heating controller

Hi Experts,

I want to build a heating control system with the openhab as a central controller.
Could you please help me to choose a hardware and bindings for my project.

Here is the simplified block diagram for the system.

So I need some thermostats located in different rooms connected to openhab (z-wave or other protocol).
I should be able to read and set the data from/to each thermostat with openhab (on tablet or any touchscreen display).

And the main part is that whenever one of the thermostat switches , OpenHab should send the signal to control unit , which can be a relay box, to open or close corresponding valve on the heating manifold.

I think that using the z-wave technology would be the best for flexibility but I am completely new to all these.

Thanks in advance.

normally, getting and processing temperatures to do something is the job of the heating controller. Is it for an existing home or are you building anew?

My 2Cent: relying on wireless transportation for key vital systems like heating is not ideal.
And most importantly there are dedicated (certified and reliable) heating solutions, which only purpos is to do the job and which don’t rely on a central logic. openHAB isn’t meant for 24/7 operation of vital systems, it is a completely open platform, which you can Change (bindings, items, rules, …) everyday with a pretty good chance of errors and failures.

Try to use a dedicated heating system (thermostats, controller, valves, logic) and just provide some automation tasks via openHAB like changes in setpoints according to presence or other logic. But don’t use openHAB as a central logic unit for heating.

2 Likes

Please consider changing the label of your topic.

1 Like

In generally I agree with Thomas.
But because of some misconfiguration and wrong components in my home I’m running my full heating system with OpenHAB since 3 years now.
It’s stable enough.
I’m using a heatpump and floorheatings.