OpenHAB Rules and Scripts roadmap

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: Raspberry Pi 4 2gb
    • openHAB version: 3

Hi all,

I’m a semi experienced user of OH2.5, now migrating to OH3 which looks super exciting.
I’m not coming from a software development background, but I have no problem learning new coding languages. With OH2.5 I mainly used Rules DSL and got very comfortable with it.

Now during my learning process of OH3 I got aware of some other scripting and automation options I didn’t use or that were not available before (e.g. JSR223, JavaScript, Jython, etc.)

As I wish to become more advanced user, which of these tools is a better path to go?
And most important, is there a roadmap for the support for these languages? Specifically, will my many ‘.rules’ files written in Rules DSL will always work (other than some syntax changes of course)?

As I said, I’m not experienced developer and I don’t mind learning new stuff. On the other hand i would prefer to invest my time in a more future proof path.
If there are docs with guidence on the subject, I’d be happy to get a link, might have missed it.

Thank you all for the great work on OH3.

There are no specific docs with guidance on this particular topic mostly because there are too many different use cases (more or less one-to-one mapping with number of OH users). If you spend a little time poking around with different search keywords, you’ll find a wealth of information on this subject here in this forum, it’s just not organized into a single doc. Here’s an example that gives you a great idea of the pluses and minuses of javascript versus rules DSL:

You might even want to look outside of the core OH3. Many users who want to get the fullest python integration with OH3 are using HABapp which you can find lots of information about here on the forum. You’ll also find on these forums many users who have connected OH up to Node-RED.