Openhab support for Zwave 700 series? Bridge vs Static wave controllers

I have reached out to Aeotec and I was informed that they will soon be releasing for sale a gen7 version of their zstick, and they already have a gen7 zwave extender out today. They then told me it will only work on silicon labs Z/IP architecture and will not work on openhab or any other non silicon lab software.

I have been reading that there is some debate regarding regarding static vs bridge controllers. I am not an expert by any means, and I cant say I understand what the challenges openhab faces, but is there a plan forward? Will openhab have support for zwave 700?

@chris
I am hoping to find some clarity on the matter. Thank you.

If it is Z/IP only that may be the case. @chris should be able to comment further.

I think for certification purposes it only works with Z/IP. But what zwave software is even using that architecture yet? The stick wouldnt work for openhab, home assistant, Home Seer, Indigo 7 or anyone. That seems pretty useless.

700 series devices are generally not compatible with existing ZWave software as they use a slightly different interface definition. This is because ZWA wanted to push people to use the Z/IP layer.

I do expect to get one of these any day now, and do expect this requirement to be phased out over the coming 12 months or so.

No - not at the moment.

I don’t expect many will now, and in future I expect it to be less - things will change over the next 12 months.

1 Like

@chris
Aeotec is also sending me one test out as well.

When you say things will change in 12 months, do you mean we should bunker down and wait for them to realize the error in their ways? Or do you mean that silicon labs is already aware of this and will provide us with the better path forward?

I’m confused as to whether to waste time trying to use their sdk to develop a zwave software of my own , especially if they’ll just reverse it and then openhab will work as is.