Openhab Things MQTT simple Sonoff switch with Tasmota

Hi and sorry ahead. I don’t get it. Hope someone has the the right patience to let me understand.

I have following Thing in my things file:
Switch Light1 “Light 1” (House, Lights) [“Lighting”] { mqtt=">[openhabian:cmnd/SS01/POWER1:command:*:default], <[openhabian:stat/SS01/POWER1:state:default]" }

It’s a Sonoff T1 3ch Switch with Tasmota.
It appears in my basic ui but doesn’t switch at all.
In MQTT.fx it doesn’t appear when i switch but when i publish .“cmnd/SS01/POWER1” and command “TOGGLE”, then it switches on the device.
Now i was reading a lot about Bridges but don’t understand. Do i need one?

Please guys, I’m a total noob but i hope someone can set me on the right path :slight_smile:

What you have in your things-file is not a “thing” but an “item”, so it belongs in an items-file. Also, this is for MQTT1.x. Depending on your setup you may be using MQTT2.x (check which version of the MQTT-binding is installed). Then the configuration of your “Thing” and “Item” is different. If you use MQTT1.x your item should work, if the rest of your configuration is OK (e.g. sitemap and broker-config).

A Bridge is only needed when you switch the “medium” with which the information is sent. In this case you send MQTT messages via WiFi, so the “bridge” in this case is the router. If you end-device would be a ZigBee device for example you will need a bridge to “translate” from WiFi to ZigBee.

1 Like

The bridge comes into play for mqtt when using the version 2 binding. You would need a broker-thing which acts as the bridge, connecting openHAB to MQTT.

1 Like

Where can I see what Version of the MQTT-binding is installed?
My MQTT-Version is 1.4.10

How would that look like?

Version 1 does not appear in paper UI, thats version 2.

1 Like

So I need a bridge? How would that look like for my case?