Organizing my smart home with Docker

As I’ve built up my smart home, I’ve found myself using an increasing number of interdependent services. As they can cause issues with each other, I was very attracted to Docker as a way to keep everything isolated and portable. That said, I ran into some hiccups with my setup, so I thought I’d share a few of my suggestions and best practices in the hopes they help someone out there.

I am far from an expert, and these are my experiences. I’ve learned by failing and by lots of googling and trial and error. They are not the only, or even necessarily the best way to do things, just the best as far as I’ve learned. I’m very open to suggestions, though my primary intent with this post is to help others get through some of the stickier points.

Also, my only experience with Docker has been running on an x86 Ubuntu server. While much of this probably will apply to other systems (especially Macs and other Linux flavors), I can’t guarantee that.

I use Docker to run the following services on my server.

• openHAB Home Automation
  • MotionEye CCTV
  • Emby media server
  • Logitech Media Server + 2 SqueezeLite instances for audio streaming
  • ShairPort Sync for audio streaming from Apple devices
  • InfluxDB
  • Grafana for beautiful graphs
  • Frontail for viewing logs
  • UniFi poller for bringing UniFi data into my Grafana graphs
  • Portainer for container management

My list of containers in Portainer

That’s a lot of software with conflicting requirements, and I think it’d be really hard to keep it all running happily using just SystemD. This is where Docker really shines!

I strongly recommend Portainer to keep track of your Docker containers. While you can theoretically do everything you need from the command line, I find it very helpful to view everything at a glance and make small changes. I would make getting that set up the first step of a successful Docker setup.