Other homekit types through node-red

This might be a very stupid idea, hence bouncing it off against the community before looking into this in depth.

Homekit types are currently quite limited in Openhab and based on other topics (like HomeKit: support for additional accessory types) it doesn’t look like this will change any time soon.

That being said I have seen some people successfully use Node-Red and Openhab rules in parallel and Node-Red does seem to have nodes that do support the other accessory types.

Could it be a solution to configure the other accessory types outside of OH in Node-Red and use the OH node to interact with those? It sound like quick and dirty patch work but at least it should enable to control the other types through Siri and interact with them in OH.

Any thoughts or anyone that went this route?

1 Like

I’ve zero experience with Node Red or HomeKit, but I don’t have any concerns with this proposed approach.

If you make it work, post a tutorial in Tutorials and Examples.

OK, I did some testing and it works quite well.

Here is a small video of a window that was configured in OH and how it’s linked to Homekit. You see the window change in the Home application when it’s opened and closed
Second movie is a configured fan, you see fan can be turned on and off in Home app or Openhab and changes accordingly in the other UI.

Will do a short summary of how to do this in separate post.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/9c09rne8nhu3lrh/IMG_0421.MOV?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/fp6gq97xt3y4awo/IMG_0419.MOV?dl=0

Here is a brief description of how to setup other types in Homekit and link them to Openhab. It’s not exhaustive and there are probably more elegant ways but it works, something a lot of OH users have been asking for. So hopefully it’s a starting point for those.