Phone detection - new approach

Hi community,
There are a many threads about phone detection using ping or sniffe other network packages, but all off them seems to have problems.
So I have a new idea. Would it be possible to integrate the detection in the iOS and Android app as an background service? A binding could open a port, and if a new setting in the app is turned on and the app detect the home network (maybe the name must be configured) the app tries to connect to the port. The binding only have to create a thing with one channel for each connected phone.
I have no experience with app development and so I don’t know what a app can do in the background, because the are normally suspended if the app goes in the background. But I read that there is a file download service, may this helps.
I’am interested in a discussion of this idea and may be there are any app developers which could help to develop this approach.

Regards,
Michael

Or integrate an MQqt server in openHAB and use OwnTracks like the “Competion” named iobroker is doing it.

Adding an MQTT server does not eliminate the need to install another app on your phone or adding new functionality to the official apps. And if you are installing another app on your phone anyway that app can (and probably should) be using the native OH REST API.

I don’t really see the need for a separate binding for this. All one would have to do, from a technical perspective, is tell the app to update a specific Item when it can reach OH through the local address.

However, neither this nor the original approach would not work in the case of people who only interact with their OH through a public interface or those who interact with their OH through a VPN.

Finally, as a community, we find it best to post just one thread for a discussion like this rather than the three separate threads that have been posted.