Problem with configuration and control of Logic Group ZDB 5100 Matrix Zwave device

Hi
I’m hoping someone can help me with a few issues that I’m having with the particular zwave device configurations. But I am a Zwave newbie, so I’m most likely missing something basic…

First things first.
I’m running openHABian on a RPi4 with OH 3.1 - its a fresh install, and I have Zwave binding and controller up and running fine with a couple of other devices - I have seemingly no other issues with with any other devices, controllers or anything else.

UPDATED

The problems I have are that some commands being sent from OH to the device do not seem to reach it.
A) I’m unable to control the color of the push buttons of the physical device when I create a color item linked to the “Color, pushbuttonX” channels - it is the case for all the color channels. When the item is created the value reads NULL - after 24+ hours it is still not updated. The usual sliders never appear, and look like this.

I have tried setting parameter 10 (advanced LED control) to 1 - also tried setting it back to 0, and then 1 again.
I can make the sliders appear by linking the item to another channel of another device, but when changing the color levels afterwards I get the following error:

2021-08-03 22:16:12.769 [DEBUG] [ding.zwave.handler.ZWaveThingHandler] - NODE 4: Command received zwave:device:dbf3a74e52:node4:color_color4 --> 0,85,100 [HSBType]
2021-08-03 22:16:12.770 [ERROR] [nal.common.AbstractInvocationHandler] - An error occurred while calling method 'ThingHandler.handleCommand()' on 'org.openhab.binding.zwave.handler.ZWaveThingHandler@19373f6': null
java.lang.NullPointerException: null
	at org.openhab.binding.zwave.internal.converter.ZWaveColorConverter.receiveCommand(ZWaveColorConverter.java:138) ~[?:?]
	at org.openhab.binding.zwave.handler.ZWaveThingHandler.handleCommand(ZWaveThingHandler.java:1205) ~[?:?]
	at jdk.internal.reflect.GeneratedMethodAccessor72.invoke(Unknown Source) ~[?:?]