Recommendation: easy integratable wallboxes for openHAB

ok, just bought my first EV and now I need some wallbox! :wink:

I’m completely new to this - so do you have some recommendations for an easily integratable wallbox, which I can then use for PV excess loading, if I (and openHAB) says so?
I’m about (if the roof-plates for mounting finally arrive) to install my Photovoltaic with an Kostal Plenticore inverter, if that helps.

As always, I’d like to use the wallbox:

• local API
  • load managing accessible
  • …whatever is necessary for a integrated wallbox

Thanks!

PS: I saw https://openwb.de (german only I guess), and it sounds perfect - but has 4month delivery atm…
PPS: It’s a Kia EV6. Typ2 and Combo.

My father is interested in the Hyundai version (the IONIQ 5), so I’d love to hear your impressions of the EV6. I hope you enjoy it!

2 Likes

Hi, I am running the OpenWB Wallbox now for two months and I am totally satisfied - And I had to wait even 6 months for the delivery :slight_smile:

Got it installed, connected to the network cable , entered the IP addresses for my solar equipment incl. Battery and it simply worked. Even the the outdated Solarworld equipment that I unfortunately own. It even reads the data from my BMW.

So far I had no need / time to connect it to Openhab because there is a lot of logic already built in. For charging you can e.g. choose: Immediately or only when Solar Power is available. And OpenWB also completely shows me what is going on with my consumption, with my solar generation and the battery usage. OpenWB will become my one stop shop for all related to the PV.

Connection to OpenHab is possible via MQTT. There are some posts.

Was definitely worth my 6 months wait charging via the normal outlet.

Martin

2 Likes