Recommendation for Camera to implement in Openhab

Hello,
im quite new to Openhab and im making the first steps - its quite amazing.
I`d love to implement a Camera into Openhab and i´m looking for some advice which cam is working properly.
I just tested a CAM with ONVIF but all i could see in the Sitemap was the jpeg - this is not really statisfying…
Would be nice if the order is available on Amazon (DE/FR/IT…EU)

Is it possible to see the “Stream” in the Sitemap or via HAB-Panel - what possibilities do i have to implement a CAM ?

Can someone pls recommend a nice CAM (Outdoor, Waterproof, POE would be nice)

(my OH2 is running on a RPI3 - nothing special)

https://www.openhab.org/docs/configuration/sitemaps.html#element-type-video

If it is a standard video stream just put this on your sitemap. If you want stuff like motion events or the like you will need something like Motion, Shinobi, BlueEye, ZoneMinder, etc.

There is also an IP camera binding, though I think it is only available on the IoT Marketplace at the moment.

1 Like

Instar IN-9008 is the one I just bought and I’m happy with the available streams and photos. Outdoor, PoE) And I had the same questions before ordering a cam.
This cam offers several streams in different qualities. The sitemap entries look like this for the lowest quality stream and photo

Text label="Hof Standbild"	icon="camera" {Video url="http://user:pass@192.168.178.39/tmpfs/auto2.jpg" encoding="mjpeg"}
Text label="Hof Stream"		icon="camera" {Video url="http://192.168.178.39/mjpegstream.cgi?-chn=13&-usr=user&-pwd=pass" encoding="mjpeg"}

Whoooooot 300€ (fast search amazon.de) is quite a bit to much i`m willing to spent for a CAM :slight_smile:

Maybe there will be some “cheaper” alternatives

But - thx @maxico for your hint