Runnng Openhab2 in a docker

Hi,

I am just beginning and trying to understand the best way to go forward.
I built an Ubuntu server that I want to run on it:

• Openhab
  • Motioneye
  • Opencv
  • Red Node

I was thinking about running all of it in dockers but as I went over the guide and I see the following:
However, this flexibility comes at a cost. For example, because openHAB is running in its own container with only enough installed to run openHAB, the Exec binding is very likely to be useless to you because the container will not have access to the programs and files you need.

I could not make much of what it means, I would be happy for some advice on the best was to build the server.

Thanks,
Omri

that’s indeed not true at all.
all you have to do is to login to your docker shell and install what you want to use there.
(or you can start container with linked folder to your root sbin/bin, but i do not recommend this at all)

I’m running only in docker in production and I’ll never look back to anything else

You have not given us any detail either. If you do not expect to use theexec binding, just realize the warning does not apply in your solution.

Only YOU can determine what is best. If you provide us more details on what exactly you want to accomplish, we can possibly provide some advice.

Hi Kriznik,

It’s good to hear that it’s a stable solution, and I know that all addons and configuration finds are mapped to the host OS. but if you install more stuff from bash it’s not getting erased when you restart the docker or upgrade?

Bruce,

I am not sure about everything yet - I am planning the system for a new house we are moving in a few months - for now, I am testing different equipment and software and trying to build the best infrastructure for the new house.

The first decision I had to make is Home Assistant vs Openhab after reading a lot and playing I think that Openhab is the best solution for me.