Searching a simple example for Binding

Hello guys,

I am a student and now have to create my own binding as a student research project. The binding should be able to communicate with another Rasberry Pi, so that this can then switch LED or similar. So far I have looked at some documentation on how to create a binding, but I still can’t make much progress.
As you know, you learn best by reproducing old projects and see how they are built. I have looked at the MQTT and the Network Binding so far. However, these are very complicated in my eyes and confuse me even more.
My question now is: do you know bindings that are very simple, where you can understand and learn a lot?

About my progress: I have already created a binding with Maven via Visual Studio Code and I can add it in Openhab. Then I looked at the XML files, with which I can create Things and Channel. Now I wonder, for example, how I can get to or use the config parameters of a registered IP in the Java file (ThingHandler). With a simple example, I would like to teach myself all this.

Thanks already for the help

The NTP Binding is very simple. It allows you to create and configure a Thing for a time server using a hostname. Time is also something everybody has good use for. :slight_smile: You can find the code in bundles/org.openhab.binding.ntp.

4 Likes

Youre right. The NTP Binding helps me a lot.
I am at the point where I need to customize the “handleCommand” method.
Now I read in the development guide that there is the RefreshType command and the SwitchType Command. My question is now if there is a list or something like that, where all commands are listed and what exactly is in this object? For example I can find out with the SwitchType by “convert((OnOffType) command)” whether the switch was switched on or off. How is it with other commands to query contents?

1 Like