Sitemap and Persistence Not Working As Expected

Hi

I’m just getting started with openHAB2. Please forgive me if these questions have already been addressed in another post. I’ve spent a few days searching through the forum and haven’t come up with any answers.

I’ve managed to get my onkyo receiver set up to send power on/off and volume commands. Now, I’m working to set up a z-wave door sensor. I purchased an aeon labs z-wave stick and an ecolink door sensor.

First, I’d like to get one point of confusion out of the way.
I added the Onkyo, z-wave stick, and z-wave door sensor as Things through PaperUI. As I activated the Channels I want to use, I also chose to link the channels to new Items. So my Items are also defined in PaperUI. With this in mind, is there any need to also define the item in a .items text file? From what I’ve seen in my testing, it doesn’t look like I have to define them in a text file. But I’m wondering what the best practice is. If the item is defined in a text file AND PaperUI, do I now have two items linked to the same channel, or is openHAB smart enough to know that the same item is defined in two places?

Regarding the sitemap file, I have the following:

sitemap main label="Main" {
	Frame label="Living Room TV"{
		Switch item=TXNR709_Zone1_Power label="Receiver Power" icon=switch 
		Setpoint item=TXNR709_Zone1_Volume label="Receiver Volume" icon=soundvolume
	}

Frame label="Security"{
		Text item=FrontDoorSensor_BinarySensor label="Front Door Sensor" icon=door
		Text item=FrontDoorSensor_BatteryLevel label="Front Door Battery" icon=battery
	}
}