[SOLVED] Need to know the correct way of implementing a recurring timer or looping thread in JSR223/Jython

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: Raspberry Pi 3 B+, 120gb mSATA SSD in a USB enclosure
    • Java Runtime Environment: 1.8.0_212
    • openHAB version: 2.4.0 release build. Jython 2.7.0

Hi there!

Short version: The script execution context of a JSR223 Jython script is not terminated when a script is updated and reloaded, so you end up with old recurring timers or threads running simultaneously, fighting each other.

I’m a new to openhab (and linux) but I have 20 years of C/C++ experience as a Windows developer. I’m trying to migrate from fibaro (lua) before my system grows any bigger as it’s already showing serious cracks. Experiencing some serious learning curve issues with openHAB but working through them – openHAB is incredibly powerful if you know how to use it, so it really looks like the best answer. I’ve spent over a week watching tutorials, reading documentation, following guide, and experimenting, but here’s where I’m stuck and could use a few pointers if possible. :wink:

I have exterior lights all around my property on 3 separate circuits in a round-robin fashion (1-2-3-1-2-3), controlled by a web relay. Controlling them is as simple as sending an HTTP request or an UDP packet.

I’m trying to make lights either flash or chase. Chase mode is strictly for showing off, so long-term performance is not an issue (I never leave them in chase mode for very long) but I do need to loop at 3 Hz or so (interval ~300ms).
Flashing is for the door bell. If I’m out in the garden far from the house, it would be great if the lights flash a couple of times if someone happens to ring the door bell when I’m outside… and if it’s currently in chase mode it should flash in a way that is noticeable and then go back to chase. It’s those kind of features that make it necessary to use a recurring timer of some kind.