[SOLVED] Trying to set up If Then with Outdoor Temperature

• Platform information: Windows 10 Prof
    • Hardware: CPUArchitecture/RAM/storage i686/16GB
    • openHAB version: 2.4
  • Issue of the topic: please be detailed explaining your issue

Ok, I know I am a newbie, but after three weeks of studying, it would look like I could figure it out. But, no, I was wrong. It probably is simple, but it eludes me.

What I am trying to do, is to turn a light on whenever the temperature goes below 30° and off again when the temperature goes above 33°. I believe I have the temperature set right, but I can only get it to work sometimes, and then only one way.

I think I have used the code fences correctly, but again, I could have messed it up. Any help would be much appreciated.

• Items configuration related to the issue
Number:Temperature          WC_PWS_Temperature
                            "Temperature [%.0f %unit%]"
                            <temperature>
                            { channel="weathercompany:weather:local:pwsObservations#currentTemperature" }
  • Rules code related to the issue
var Number WC_PWS_Temperature
var Number currentTemperature

rule "Loginfo every 10 minutes"
when
    Time cron "0 */10 * ? * *"
then

if(currentTemperature > 33){
				OfficeDeskLight.sendCommand(OFF)
				}
			logInfo("currentTemperature", "> 33° = OFF " + WC_PWS_Temperature)	

if(currentTemperature < 30){
				OfficeDeskLight.sendCommand(ON)
				}

logInfo("currentTemperature", "> 30° " + WC_PWS_Temperature) 
			logInfo("Minute", "Another 10 minutes has passed.")

end
  • Services configuration related to the issue
  • If logs where generated please post these here using code fences:
2019-10-22 20:00:00.004 [INFO ] [home.model.script.currentTemperature] - > 33° = OFF WC_PWS_Temperature (Type=NumberItem, State=27 °F, Label=Temperature, Category=temperature)