[SOLVED] VS Code: "Resource is not available"

I’m a complete beginner with VS Code but followed BK Hobby’s video tutorial and managed to get up and running quickly. Congratulations to all involved in building the OpenHAB Extension for VS Code! It is huge advance in editing/managing OpenHAB’s configuration files.

I’m using V0.4 of the extension and I’ve encountered one glitch that I don’t know how to fix. I wish to preview a sitemap (called default.sitemap) in BasicUI so I click the OpenHAB icon in the upper-right corner of the editor. The result is an error message indicating “unable to open 'default: resource is not available”. I assume it refers to default.sitemap but it’s unclear to me how to make it “available”.

You’ve come across a recently found issue (as of extension 0.4, the video was made with 0.3.5), which the maintainers are working on. For now, you’ll have to use an external browser to preview your sitemaps.

I’m glad you found the video useful! :wink:

Thank you for your reply and your helpful video! I watched it at least three times to ensure I had configured VS Code correctly (and observe the extension’s features in action). The ability to immediately preview sitemap modifications is a valuable enhancement and I look forward to using it after the maintainers correct the bug.

Although I read about VS Code’s features, seeing them demonstrated in your video helped to make them ‘click’ for me. I’d like to see more about leveraging the usefulness of the OpenHAB extension in VS Code.

EDIT

This experience has also taught me to check GitHub for issues that might correspond to the problem I’m experiencing!

1 Like

Is this @123 from the Premise forum? Welcome!

Did you make the switch to openHAB?

Thank you!

Yes, I’m that 123; I have been a fan of Premise Home Control since 2008. That’s two years after the company ceased development and released Premise to the public for free.