Use until datetime on rule based on datetime item

Dear Colleagues,

As I’m not a programmer I’m facing some issues to create a basic rule and I need your support. I’m still using OH 3.4 as one non official binding was not tested on 4.

I’ve a rule to pick up datetime from when my alarm goes off: HouseAlarmOff.postUpdate(now.toLocalDateTime.toString()) and it’s working.

Now I’m trying to create a rule to check how many minutes passed from what I’ve into DateTime item HouseAlarmOff;

I tried:

var mins_between = HouseAlarmOff.zonedDateTime.until(new DateTimeType().zonedDateTime, ChronoUnit.MINUTES)

But it’s not working. May someone help me? I read that my I need to transform my DateTime Item to Zonedate to then execute “until” function but it did not work

You have to use JavaTime instead of DateTimeType (yes, it’s a bit confusing) - see

as an excelent reference.

Hi Udo,

sorry but I read and tried to cast datetime type to java but it did not work. I’m not sure if should then i created a string item and add date directly like java or if really is there a way to cast from datetime type to java.

Code:
val MyJavaTimeFromDateTimeItem = (HouseAlarmOff.state as DateTimeType).getZonedDateTime()
logInfo(“rules”, "minutes: "+ MyJavaTimeFromDateTimeItem)

Error:

==> /var/log/openhab/openhab.log <==

2023-12-07 17:30:50.858 [ERROR] [internal.handler.ScriptActionHandler] - Script execution of rule with UID ‘alarm-4’ failed: Could not cast 2023-12-07T16:51:39.910279 to org.openhab.core.library.types.DateTimeType; line 77, column 39, length 35 in alarm

And

It isn’t clear to me what HouseAlarmOff means, and what you want mins_between to calculate? Is it the difference in time between HouseAlarmOff and now?

If that’s what you want, then:

val mins_between = Duration.between(HouseAlarmOff.state.zonedDateTime, now).toMinutes

Depending on whether HouseAlarmOff is in the past or in the future, you may need to swap the order of the two arguments above.