User enhancements

Can we please have a discussion about the future of OpenHAB with out it degrading to throwing food, spitting and biting.

For reference, I’ve recently written a couple example rules to contribute to the tutorial section of the forum. I’m new to writing rules, the community has been great in helping me and several times I’ve heard folks say we needed simple rules examples so it was a way to contribute. In the first rule example thread I compared two times. The second example involved a step making a decision based on the day of the week.

There is a lot of talk about changing this or that but if the goal is truly to attract more ‘non technical’ type users, asking people to convert joda time types to rules dsl time types to discern if two event occurred before or after one another is, well… kind of asking a lot. I read a thread recently where someone was saying the whole astro binding should be built in because whether it is daylight or not is such a basic home automation task. I’m starting to agree. Shouldn’t what day of the week it is be… I’m almost scared to type the word for fear of attracting trolls… but… easier?

I understand the rules dsl may soon go away. I see a graphical rules writing interface similar to ITTT (which I’ve used a little) or node-red (which I’ve seen but haven’t gotten to try) as being the obvious goal if non programmers are the audience. I am not ignorant to the fact that creating such a thing is no small task. I know nothing about JSR223 but what I wonder is could rules dsl or JSR223 be enhanced similar to what jquery did for javascript? Not a direct example of what I talking about but more of a make easy things really easy and make hard things much easier. Rules dsl means domain specific language right, like specific to OpenHAB right? Seems to me, if the application is going to have it’s own language anyhow…