Whole Home Audio - Sources and Suggestions

I’m upgrading from a dying receiver connected to four in-wall speakers with music coming from Pandora running through Pianobar on a RPi. On its way is a 6 Zone MonoPrice amplifier kit which I plan to control through OpenHAB using @bartus example. My servers and amplifiers are in a server rack in my basement so I’d need to control everything remotely using my phone and eventually devices dedicated to HABPanel. At this time I’m not sure if I will install the control panels that come with the MonoPrice amplifier kit.

What are some suggestions on what I could use as input sources?

• My #1 priority is to have access to Pandora with full controls. I have a paid Pandora subscription and the Pianobar on the RPi worked great but that isn’t integrated into OpenHAB.

• I did recently setup Max2Play on a RPi with a HiFi Berry DAC. I plan to keep it as an input source but it seems, at least through the web and android interface, that some key features of Pandora (skip, thumbs up/down) are not available. Am I correct in assuming the OpenHAB binding doesn’t add any of these Pandora functions?

• Would ChromeCast audio provide better integration of Panora and other streaming media services than LMS/squeeze on Max2PLay?

• My family has three FireTVs which we use mainly to play Plex. Would a “headless” FireTV provide more/better audio options? We also have three echo dots and I could try to re-purpose one as a source device.

• I don’t (yet) have a music library but I could see Max2Play or Plex audio being good if I rip CDs and put the files on my FreeNAS server. Are there other features of these devices that I’m missing?

What other options are there?

Thank you,
B34N