Z-wave device template; adding new device

Intro (less important)
Not being a programmer I have struggled to configure OpenHAB2 on RaspberryPi3 with z-wave.me USB Stick.
It seems there are plenty of files in different locations, but I didn’t find an explanation in one place.
Until now I’ve managed to find my way through the documentation (as a side note: it’s been a difficult task, though, and the lack of information whether the documentation is about OpenHAB1 or OpenHAB2 in many tutorials, on many pages, hasn’t made it easier tbh.)

Why
I bought the cheapest contact sensor (door/window) available from “Kaipule Technology Co., Ltd”. It seems to be the IM-20. It doesn’t show any channels; The info in database is incomplete. I can’t get it to work.

What I am asking
How to create a template for a new device (the one mentioned above in my case, but my question is more general), so I could test it and upload to the database on chris’s site once it’s working?
I’m not interested in uploading something before I’m really sure it’s working, I hope you get the point :wink:

What I already tried (to no avail)
I found the information about how to upload (create an account, ask access etc.) but I have literally no idea how to create the template (some file? xml? json?), where to put it and how to test it.

It seems there is this json file containing all the needed info (the xml files are re-created if needed according to chris).
So I have edited this json file according to the info I have about my device… and all is gone, cause OpenHAB has overwritten the file with what it’s found in the database, I suppose, which is incomplete (see above).

To sum up
Assuming a new z-wave device, good documentation on paper, but not in database for OpenHAB - what to do? how to create an entry? where is it stored? Can it be tested? edited?