Zigbee Binding Tradfri Signal Repeater experiences looking for guidance?

Platform information:

• Hardware: Raspberry Pi 4
  • Java Runtime Environment: Zulu 8.46
  • openHAB version: 2.5.5 Release version

Topic:
My first Zigbee addition is a Fyrtur blind via Tradfri Signal Repeater

Configuration

• HUSBZB-1 Ember EM35x Coordinator - Working well according to the logs
  • Tradfri Signal Repeater (Router) - communicates well to the Coordinator and each device
  • One End_Device is a ‘steering’ switch - which does indeed control the blind
  • One End_Device - the Blind - which works via the switch and required Signal Repeater/router

My background
I’m an EE, professional software developer, OpenHab user, starting to write a binding for the Bond gateway. However, I have zero experience with zigbee. I’m well versed in logs reading, though not specifically for this binding.

In order to get this to work, I’ve tried everything that I’ve read. The clearest description simply says (paraphrased):

[After the controller Thing goes green]
Go to Inbox
select +
Select Zigbee
do whatever the device needs, each is different
If done right, it shows up in the inbox
select it to create a Thing
Then make an Item and continue as you will (basically)
If it doesn’t work, turn on debug via the Karaf console.

I have the starter Fyrtur blind (zigbee end_device) the Tradfri Signal Repeater (zigbee_router) and the ‘steering’/switch (end_device).
They all work together fine. I’ve reset and repaired them multiple times
The Coordinator is healthy and communicates to the Tradfri/router

The coordinator installed find and is green.

• I click plus (+)
  • Select Zigbee
  • Put my end_device(s) into pairing mode and wait
  • Nothing shows up in the inbox
  • Logs show nothing from the blind
  • The switch shows a familiar series of EzspMacFilterMatchMessageHandler messages

In order to try trouble shoot, I’ve tried many combinations and sequences. This is the result of my experiments: