Zigbee coordinator for new setup

I plan to buy some zigbee devices (for a start some IKEA TRÅDFRI), but would probably buy more :-).
I found a CC2652P as ebay (CC2652P data sheet, product information and support | TI.com), the seller claims it is openHAB compatible, but I don’t see this coordinator in the compatibility list. I also saw that Chris had done some updates to the Zigbee binding recently. Thus I am in doubt what coordinator to go for.
I have been using Z-Wave for a couple of years, but Zigbee is new to me :-).

Can I expect the coordinator to work with the Zigbee binding?

or is it the zigbee2mqtt binding that supports it?

I would like to go for the Zigbee Binding, as I has been used the Z-Wave Binding from Chris for years (and it was always stable as a rock).

If this coordinator is not supported, then please sugegst something that could be bought inside EU for reasonable money (preferably better than the CC2531

I have been reading recent threads, and as far as I see the coordinator is not supported.
I plan

The only ember-based coordinator USB stick I know of that is zigbee 3 capable and has somewhat uptodate firmware availible:

tronika has it Norway (guessing from your name :slight_smile: )
Not cheap, but is reported working with newer Hue bulbs on openhab-zigbee with upgraded firmware.
(I have not tested this stick myself)

1 Like

Thanks for the answer.
I live in Denmark, so your guessing is not all bad :slight_smile:
The pricetag doesn’t seem to be all bad - but I am also used to Z-Wave prices :slight_smile:

Oh, Danish, I belive Denmark is where the -sen ending is coming from.
I suppose we got that when Denmark and Norway was one kingdom.

There is also the itead zigbee 3.0 usb dongle.
It has a newer ember chip. But it only was made 1000 of them as a initial production run. When and if Itead get around to produce more I dont know.
I have seen them on ebay and the chinese stores.