Add Z-wave Controller to Synology NAS Install - Serial Error: Port /dev/ttyACM0 does not exist

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: Synology NAS DS916+ / Aeotec Z-Stick Gen5
    • Java Runtime Environment: Java8 1.8.0_241
    • openHAB version: 2.5.2.000
  • Issue of the topic:
    Hi,
    I’ve installed OpenHAB to my Synology NAS which seams to work fine.
    As a next step I’m trying to add a Z-wave controller (Aeotec Z-Stick Gen5) to the setup.
    Adding the binding worked fine but configuring the Serial Port doesn’t work.
    I’ve used port /dev/ttyACM0 but receive the following error: Serial Error: Port /dev/ttyACM0 does not exist

Following some information I found on this community this probably has to do with insufficient rights for the openHAB user. I’m not a Linux expert but tried the following:

• Via SSH logged in as admin on the NAS (ls -l /dev/ttyACM0) I receive the following info on which I assume is the serial port for my Z-wave controller USB stick:
    crw------- 1 root root 166, 0 Apr 14 19:32 /dev/ttyACM0

• I have difficulties in changing the access rights for my openHAB user for this port following the instructions I found on https://github.com/openhab/openhab-syno-spk
    Can somebody help on this?

You likely have a group permissions issue. Only users in the root group have access to that device. Is your openhab user in that group?

I had a similar issue, i resolved it with : sudo chmod 777 /dev/ttyACM0
I bookmarked this link as reference: [SOLVED] Synology Zigbee Binding and CC2531 Stick - "failed to open the dongle"

That opens up the security to any rogue program running on the NAS.

1 Like

And as said in the original posting, it’s only a test. The correct way to solve this problem is to use a udev rule to change ownership and permition.

Take a look at

Yesterday I’ve rebooted my NAS before making any further configuration. Strangely enough my controller came online. But when checking the access rights on the port I still get this: