Creating a UI APP for your Smart Home / openHab

Hi everyone, I am a Developer currently working on a new UI Tool App for openHab.
The App will be available on Android, iOS and Web maybe as DockerContainer. It will be free to use and there wont be any advertising so don’t worry.

With the App you will be able to build a UI as multiple Widgets in a ListView. You’ll have to connect your openHab REST Api to the App and after that, every Item you’ve configured in oH will be available in the app. Main Goal is, to make building an UI as simple as possible but still keeping the costumization.

My Question is, if you could wish something for an UI Tool like this, what would it be ?
What are the biggest Issues you run into currrently when it comes to an UI ?
Remember, the App is not for people who want a lot of costumization or are good at building UI from scratch because of coding experiance. It supose to take all the UI stuff away from you so you can concentrate on managing your openhab items, rules and so on but still have a beatiful UI by just some simple config.

Greetings
Mitch

2 Likes
  • Not being able to use the value of one item as a label and one value as a value
  • Not being able to split the gui configuration into multiple files.
  • Desktop view it’s two columns, Mobile view is one column.
    More control how the columns get filled would be nice. e.g.
    Mobile:

Desktop

1   3
2   4
1 Like

Is it going to be like the new UI in OH3 that will be released soon?

Backup of the configuration, means even if I delete the app and install it again at a later point in time I should be able to restore the UI with minimal fuss.

1 Like