How to setup things files?

I’m using openhabian on Pi3

This whole concept of file vs. UI-based approach is extremley missleading for beginners (and I’m a full time developer).
If you are looking for tutorials it is a total catastrophe. Some uses GUI, some uses files, some use both. I spend days until I understood that stuff that I add via GUI is NOT appearing in the file system…

Anyway…
Since the GUI thing is not working very properly and still is not very user-friendly I no am trying to set up my OH2 from scratch (now the sixth time now) - but I want to avoid the GUI as far as possible…

I Found several tutorials about rules and sitemaps… But how do I configure things? I added the bindings via the GUI… But what do I do next? How do I configure the things and items??? How can I get the IDs and stuff like that from the Item?

I found this:
http://docs.openhab.org/configuration/things.html

Can I automatically add the things files?
Imo that’s they way it should work: You add the things via GUI and the files will be generated at the same time. Not with two different approaches (db/files). That’s totally confusing…

Can I add as many things/items/rules files as I like? If yes? Is there a difference between one big file and several smaller files? I’d like to seperate lighting, heating, sensors and security…

Although I really like OH, I’m still confused…

thanks a lot
Dave

1 Like

Agreed it can be confusing, I went through the same process. Started with GUI as seemed quick to get started (and generally recommended) but I’ve subsequently refactored and I think 99% is now file based. As you’re a developer I’d highly recommend the file route, you can always play with the GUI to see stuff but do final build in files. There are some recommendations about not doing this for Zwave bindings and maybe others but I don’t have those so can’t confirm/deny and worst case you can mix and match files/with GUI.