Remote Access: pfSense + HAProxy + LetsEncrypt

I ran into a problem with software that is not openHAB. But I’m posting what I’ve done here as it could be useful for openHAB users as well who wish to run the risk of exposing their home network to the Internet. I’m a computer security engineer by profession so I know what risks I’m assuming and how to mitigate them. If you do not know how to set this up, monitor it for attack and compromise, keep it up to date, and secure the rest of your network then this tutorial is not for you.

The Problem

I’m experimenting with Nextcloud. Unfortunately the folks over at Nextcloud have take the whole “security is built in” a little too far for a user like me. I access all of my home servers through OpenVPN and rely on that to provide the network security. But the sticking point is the Nextcloud Android app will only work through HTTPS with a valid certificate.

I do not want to get in the Certificate Authority business. It’s already a pain to keep up with for my SSH logins and Mosquitto. Generating and distributing self signed certificates to all my client devices is a step too far.

The Approach

Recently (within the last year) LetsEncrypt has added supports for wild card subdomains. This means you can get one certificated for *.foo.bar. Then you can run openhab.foo.bar, nextcloud.foo.bar, nightscout.foo.bar, and so on. This is great because lots of services one might run at home, such as openHAB, do not do well with reverse proxies trying to put them at foo.bar/openhab.

So we need to acquire a domain name that allows us to create subdomains. Then we can get the LetsEncrypt certs. Then we can set up pfSense and HAProxy as our reverse proxy. Finally I’ll discuss a little bit about monitoring.

Acquire a domain name

In order for this to work you need to acquire a domain name that supports:

• Dynamic DNS updates
  • Gives you access to set TXT records
  • Supports subdomains