Setting up openHAB 2 on Synology + Z-Wave (beginner here)

Updated: I’ve cleaned this up after giving it another go with “2.1.0.004-SNAPSHOT-DSM6

Hi,
I’m using this post as a record of my migration from using a micasaverde VERA 2 as a controller in a very simple Z-wave network. It has been pretty much successful so far.

• My home network consists of only 6 Z-wave devices and I’ve also fiddled with other OpenHAB 2 bindings:

• 1 un - Aeon Labs/AEOTEC Z-Stick Gen5 USB Z-Wave Controller

• 3 un - Fibaro Rollerblind controllers FGR221 (no power sensors)

• 2 un - Fibaro Rollerblind controllers FGRM222 (newer versions)

• The first step was to add the Z-Stick to my original network and then move the Z-wave network (controller shift) from the Vera to the Z-Stick. I later checked with desktop software (zensys, etc) that it appeared to be ok, and after that removed the Vera altogether from the network

• While preparing to make OpenHAB 2 actually run on the Synology NAS, I determined that I was necessary to:

• Create folders /volume1/public/OpenHAB2/addons and /volume1/public/OpenHAB2/conf (not configurations)

• Create dialout and uucp user groups to the DSM and adding the openhab2 user as a member of those two groups

• Solve the “Serial Error: Port /dev/ttyACM0 does not exist” Z-Wave binding issue with ssh’ing:

sudo chmod 777 /dev/ttyACM0
  • Notice that when you disconnect your USB stick from the NAS it will reconnect in the next “slot”, so the port will most likely now be /dev/ttyACM1. You can either a) change the serial port in the thing properties within OpenHAB 2 or b) unplug it and maybe it will reconnect on the other port. To check you can just issue ls /dev/ttyACM0 to check if it exists or not. Side note: this issue also happened with Domoticz, it’s probably difficult to get it working automatically.