Simple/reliable wired light switch detectors with QLC / DMX / Art-Net / sACN?

Hi,

I’m just starting to explore openHAB. I think I want to use openHAB, QLC and Art-Net/sACN to automate my home lighting but I’m new to all of them and need to get my head around the environment before diving too deep in the wrong direction.

I like the idea of DMX so I can make my garden and outdoor lights do cool stuff at night or at Christmas or Halloween etc (and inside lights too for fun or some practical stuff like making the burglar alarm scarier).
I plan to use RGB or RGBW outside. Inside I want to go for RGBWA as much as possible so the colour is nicer (DMX RGBWA downlights are available on Alibaba now). Hopefully openHAB + a sensor can help me detect the colour/brightness outside and change the colour/brightness inside accordingly.

Over time I want to end up with a house that does the lighting for us, not have to press a switch every time we move around. So there will be motion sensors and switches and switches should be mostly for scene changes. I’m new to this so being able to reassign switch functions is important as I screw things up and evolve them.

I want to keep all the existing (old school, AC powered) switches so everything matches. I guess it will take years to replace all lights and switches but there’s no mad rush and I need to prove it works in a couple of areas before the wife will accept it.
I’ve been looking for a reliable and relatively simple way to detect when light switches are pressed. I’m planning to change the wiring in my light switches from AC powered to CAT6 (I like wires not wireless).