[Solved] Demo sitemap issue - Outside Weather text colour

I’m new to OpenHAB and this is my first post. Please be gentle! I have zero experience of Java, so I expect this is a dreadfully noob question.

I’ve installed openhabian OH2.51 on a RPi3 and got it working with a few MQTT lighbulbs, and thought the next step would be to copy the weather part of the demo site. I have used DarkSky and it’s pulling down all of the detailed information correctly.

The one thing I can’t get my head around is the section of code that changes the colour of the text based on Weather_LastUpdate, which is the time of the last update. It seems to me that the logic is based on the number of minutes since that update, so how is this meant to work?

The line I don’t understand is

Text item=Weather_Temperature valuecolor=[Weather_LastUpdate=="NULL"="lightgray",Weather_LastUpdate>90="lightgray",>25="orange",>15="green",>5="orange",<=5="blue"]

The value of the variable as shown by VSCode is e.g. ‘2020-01-27T18:06:25.071+0000’ and the colour is usually grey, but sometimes orange after a page refresh.

This is my an entry in a file I’ve called weather.rules (and the log shows it is being read)

// Creates an item that stores the last update time of this item
rule "Records last weather update time"
when
  Item Weather_Temperature received update
then
  postUpdate(Weather_LastUpdate, new DateTimeType())
end

Could anyone please give me some pointers as to what I’m doing wrong? Many thanks in advance.

In the Thing config you set how often the binding updates the weather. The rule just post the time it was updated.

Does the grey go away each time you refresh the page? In BasicUI you can use F5.

IMHO (and yours too) to correctly change the valuecolor “Weather_LastUpdate” needs to hold the timedifference between the LastUpdate and now.

Thanks for your reply. My weather.things file has the refreshInterval set at 15.