Support for Hörmann garage doors

I’m planning on buying a Hörmann garage door. They have a proprietary wireless remote control system called BiSecur. They even have mobile apps. For security and convenience I don’t want to change this for a different protocol like Z-wave.

Does anyone have any experience with connecting Hörmann and BiSecur to openHAB?

Documentation in english can be obtained from their U.K. website: http://www.hormann.co.uk/fileadmin/_country/DE/dok/BiSecur_Home_TR20N004-A.pdf

1 Like

I own a Hörmann garage door (BiSecure) and I’m also thinking about, how to connect it to OH2.
Of course I would like to open and close the garage door from OH2. But it would also be nice to get the status from the garage door and show it in OH2.

There is a universal circuit board Hörmann UAP1.
Maybe it is possible to use this together with a Fibaro FGRM-222 to get it connected.

I’m not an electrician, so I don’t know if it is possible.
Does anybody know?

I own a Hörmann BiSecur garage door opener (without the gateway) and have it connected to openHAB2 the easy way:

A relay is connected via wire to the manual input of the garage door opener (where you can also connect key remotes or manual indoor switches or whatever). The relay is controlled via openHAB.
In addition to that I have two micro switches (you may also use reed switches) which give me a signal when the door is in the open or closed position.

You could use existing hardware for the relay or may buy new stuff. I’m using hardware from Tinkerforge, but as always: openHAB is open for so many different hardware approaches that the right choice should not be a problem at all.

And: I’m pretty sure there is no way to connect the Hörmann via BiSecur directly to openHAB.

1 Like

I don’t know, if this is an option, but do you know Garadget:

It’s an extension for existing garage door systems and can be connected to OH (there is an existing binding, just have a look in this forum).