Trrying to turn a device off after a certain amount of time

Im trying to turn an item off after 2 mins, but what i have isnt working. Im pretty new to this so it my all be tottaly wrong

Item File

Switch ToiletLight “Light” [ “Switchable” ] {mqtt=">[broker:cmnd/sonoff-12/power:command:OFF:0],>[broker:cmnd/sonoff-12/power:command:ON:1]"}

Rules File

var Timer md1Timer = null
val int timeoutMinutes = 2

rule "ToiletLight received ON"
when
Item ToiletLight received command ON
then
if(md1Timer == null) {
md1Timer = createTimer(now.plusMinutes(timeoutMinutes ), [|
ToiletLight.sendCommand(OFF)
md1Timer = null
])
}
else {
md1Timer.reschedule(now.plusMinutes(timeoutMinutes )
}
end

There is a bracket missing at the end of the last but two line.

md1Timer.reschedule(now.plusMinutes(timeoutMinutes))
                                                  /\

Apart from that the rule seems ok to me.
Does the switch work at all if using through UI?
I don’t use mqtt, so I don’t know if the item definition is correct, though it seems correct either.

You wouldn’t need the italic part, but the main problem is a missing second ) after timeoutMinutes.
Also see this on NULL vs null.
Also, I vaguely recall that if comparing against null, you need to use !== (or ===) in latest software version, but I fail to find a reference. Usually the rule parser will complain about.

Either way, make sure you make use of proper tooling. Will make it a lot easier for you to write error-free rules.
Use the Eclipse Designer, or set proper debugging so you will get alerted by the parser in openhab.log (set debug level for org.openhab.model.script.rules and .engine logging).

check out the expire binding also

+1 The expire binding is simple to implement and just works

Examples of Expire Binding as a Timer: