Which Zigbee Dongle to use?

• Platform information: Raspberry Pi Model B+ with Openhabian 2.5

Dear all,

after several not really successful as absolute beginner on openhab attempts using 2.4 stable with RaspBee Premium from Amazon I want to go a different approach using an USB dongle.
What do I want to achieve:

• integration of Aquara sensors
  • integration of LEDVANCE Smart+ Plugs

After some searching in the board I fould What shoud I use for a Zigbee hub and there the CC2531 ZigBee USB-Sick is recommended.

Question would be if this is still the recommended - and easiest - way. Btw: I am fully setting up the entire openhab(ian) anew then using the 2.5 release (stable).

Thanks and sorry for the noob question…

I highly recommend it BUT it is probably not the easiest.
The stick needed to be flashed with special firmware
It’s not hard but a bit daunting if you’ve never done that sort of things
The tutorial is well written and detailed
You’ll need a couple of bits of extra hardware in order to flash the stick

Hi Vzorglub,

they state that they have pre-flashed CC2531ZNP-Prod.hex(19.06.2019). So this one is not up-to-date enough?

This is not a stick I would recommend. It’s now very old, and TI do not support the firmware on this any more and will not fix bugs or make improvements that are required. They are still popular due to their cost, but may not support the latest devices.

Personally I would recommend a dongle with the Silabs Ember chipset.

Who is they?

This firmware is afaik modified for zigbee2mqtt. So, if you intend to use zigbee2mqtt you are fine. If you want to use the zigbee binding you should look at a different zigbee dongle.

I think I’ve seen people using the MQTT version with the ZigBee binding. Fundamentally it’s still the same firmware, but with a few settings changed - it’s not completely different firmware.

use the Qivicon. You can get them for 10 Euros on ebay or kleinanzeigen. I did the same

1 Like

like this one? LINK