Z-Wave Serial Adapter setup

Real NOOB here…
Want to set up Z-Wave devices.
I have Z-Wave USB stick plugged into openhabianpi
I’ve installed Z-Wave binding 2.1
The instructions say:
"Before the binding can be used, a serial adapter must be added. This needs to be done manually. Select “Serial ZStick”, and enter the serial port."
OK?
Where/how do I “Select Serial ZStick”?
Where/how do I find out the serial port?

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: Raspberry Pi 2 B v1.1
1 Like

In PaperUI go to Things and press the + icon at the top. Select zwave and then click on “Add Thing Manually”. At this point your only option will be the serial Thing.

You will need to enter the address where the controller resides (/dev/tty* on Linux/Mac or COM* on Windows). On Linux the openhab user will need to have premission to read and write on the device. This is often handled by adding that user to the dialout or tty group.

Thanks so much for pointing me in the right direction.
Using your directions, I was able to add the Zwave controller.
(It did take a bit of fiddling to figure out that it was port /dev/ttyUSB0 )
I’m using a Nortek Linear HUSBZB-1 which is a combo Zwave and Zigbee adapter (Zigbee is on /dev/ttyUSB1)
After that, I was able to successfully at a Zwave switch (Aeotec Micro Switch G2).
Thanks for your help!

After some time with that controller, especially if you add some Zigbee devices, it might be nice to come back and post a review. Given the cost of that controller and the fact you get two for one I think it is going to be very popular among OH users as time goes by.

I’m glad you got everything working!

I was glad to find this HUSBZB-1 for a good price at Amazon and happy that it had both Zwave and Zigbee. I’m only using Zwave now but will probably end up with some Zigbee devices eventually. So far, I’m happy to report that it works!
OpenHAB is great for bringing some unification to the Tower of Babel which is home automation.