Remember to make a backup!

26 years I work in IT. 26 years…

last sunday decided to update my openhab pi to the latest version of openhab. I did not check my backup cause well, it’s a cron job, it just runs.

So my Pi did not come back after the reboot, I found it in kernel panic. Never mind, I have a backup, just let me get it and do a rebuild… The last time my cron job worked was in januari this year…

At least I get to do my cleanup now… quite effective! :slight_smile:

12 Likes

I can’t think of a suitable reply, that doesn’t start with… “Whoops…”

How about “Trust, but verify”. :wink:
Disaster recovery has been a part of recommended IT policy for a long time. Unfortunately, very few (including me) practice it,

2 Likes

Thanks for admitting in public.

All to read this, spend some of your minutes on reading the Amanda documentation of openHABian (the first paragraphs at least).

no-backup

1 Like

Just checked my backups. Everything works fine.
I do an openhabian backup every 4 days, save it locally and to another computer in the network and the whole config is in a private github project. :innocent:

1 Like

1 Like

I really recommend you check in your config and code in versioning system such as git or subversion. You then get history of changes and you can go back if needed. You still need to back up your versioning system, unless you make a private repo at github or similar.

I check in all my config on all servers, rpi etc. It has saved me numerous times.

3 Likes

It’s a little annoying, but that’s why I have my backup cron jobs email me a little confirmation when they run. Then I might notice. “Hey, I didn’t get that PosgreSQL was backed up email this morning, better look into that.” But now I realize I need to probably add some more confirmation like listing the size and contents of the tarball to the email. It might be saving zero length backups and I’d never know it.