Simply turn on at sunrise, turn off at sunset in openhab2

I am new to openhab2 and I am a bit stuck. I’m trying to get some of my zwave lights to turn on at sunset and off at sunrise. Should be simple right? I think I am mixing up openhab1 and openhab2 methods and it is not working

In my items file I have:
Switch Sunrise_Event {astro=“planet=sun, type=rise, property=start, offset=0”}
Switch Sunset_Event {astro=“planet=sun, type=set, property=end, offset=0”}

an example zwave lamp is:
Dimmer BedroomLamp "Bedroom Lamp" (Garden,Lights) { channel="zwave:device:3e29eba6:node6:switch_dimmer:switch_dimmer" }

in my rules file I have:

rule "Bedroom Light On At Sunset"
        when
                Item Sunset_Event received update ON
        then
                postUpdate(BedroomLamp, 90)
end

but this rule never fires. In the openhab.log and events.log I don’t even see the Sunrise_Event or Sunset_Event fire.

Any idea what I am doing wrong?

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Simple question first, you do have the Astro Binding installed and configured for your location, right?

Nothing, it simply doesn’t work that way.
Two solutions:
1:

2:

Open issue:

You can use the 1.9 astro binding in OH2 instead of the native OH2 one. This works in the same way as for OH 1.8, and events based on sunrise/sunset etc trigger fine.

1 Like

The events you are looking for are not available with openHAB2 anymore, as a better solution is underway but not available yet. Here’s yet another workaround:

@Kevin_Lieb

Here’s what I did to generate sunrise/sunset events. It relies on the NTP binding being set up to refresh the time every 60 seconds. I think there may still be a boundary condition in my math, but so far I haven’t seen it occur in over a couple months… I use the same approach for several other events, such as start of Day, Night, Dawn, Dusk, etc., which is why I didn’t use Sun Elevation as mentioned above. However, I’ve removed all those other items and rules for the sake of brevity.