Smart wall plugs without "internet communication"

Hi all,
hope my question is not too stupid, but as I am new to OH and home automation at all, I need to ask :slight_smile:
I have OH 2.4 running on my synology DS216j, no other smart devices yet. I am looking now for smart plugs to control some standalone lights just for on/off switching. I am confused about all the different protocols, but first requirement would be the following: Whatever technique they are using is fine as long as they are not communicating ā€œhomeā€ to any internet server. I need them just inside my walls working, as I want to have everything centrally controlled via my OH on my diskstation.
So if there are any nice (cheap) wall plugs, which of these you can recommend for OH integration? I do not have any smart home control unit in place but have read some things about having a RaspPi with a controller unit additionally to my OH in order to control different protocols?

So summing up, I am looking for:

• smart wall-plugins
  • option to have a central control unit (e.g. like CCU3 from homematic)

Any hint or link would be highly appreciated.

Welcome @shapoc!

If you intend to go for cheap plugs, look for Sonoff or Shelly plugs. Both communicate via WiFi and both use MQTT as a protokoll. Sonoff devices have to flashed, Shellies can be flashed to the opensource Tamota software in order to communicate only on your intranet.
For both there are lots of post in this forum.

As the needed controller, using openhab with those devices you would need a smartphone/tablet/PC.

2 Likes

Hello @shapoc,
If you would be ready to get a Zigbee usb dongle you could use the Innr or Osram Zigbee plugs. As those talk Zigbee they actually canā€™t talk to the internet directly but only to a Zigbee bridge. In your case that would be your openhab with the Zigbee binding.
You could also look at Zwave but in my experience the simple plugs tend to be more expensive there.