Homematic HmIP-BROLL & HmIP-FROLL - Get them to work in openHAB

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: Raspi 3
    • openHAB version: 3.1.0 Release Build running on Docker 2.6.2
    • Homematic Binding for CCU 2 (controlling lights via Alexa, logging the heating), Gardena Binding (logging soil humidity), Alexa Binding (controlling the Homematic lights)

I’m fairly new to openHAB and managed to get most of the things running that I wanted to (controlling lights, for now only logging heating, soil humidity, etc). However, what I have not yet gotten to work, despite multiple efforts and reading through various posts (e.g. Homematic shutters HmIP-BROLL always close when sending command "UP", [SOLVED] HmIP-BROLL - wrong item label? and https://openhabforum.de/viewtopic.php?t=2938) is to be able to controll my shading / shutters (nine Homematic HmIP-FROLL actors) via openHAB (and then via Alexa).

What I did achieve:

1. Creating the item that lets me steer the level by pressing “up” and “down”
  2. Creating an item that lets me view the current level

What I failed miserably so far:
From what I understood, those two items need to be combined to a “proxy-item”. Here Homematic shutters HmIP-BROLL always close when sending command "UP" - #59 by Cplant you can find the documentation of what I tried. However, not surprisingly, having already errors in step #1, this did not work.

My problem is that the hints in the threads always start a bit too far for me, as in, I do not always know where to allocate the code (item definition in the UI, rules created in the UI, scripts created in the UI (ECMA Script / Rule DSL?), items definition in the “items-folder”?).

I got the impression from the three threads above that the solution is already out there. Would someone be able to provide an easy step-by-step description?

As far as I know the proxy items are no longer necessary it is OK for you OH defines open and close opposite to Homematic.