[SOLVED] Integrating openhab and google assistant

Following this tutorial I can’t understand the modify functions\config.js part , where exactly is this file?? I’m new to this and I’m using a ubuntu 16.4 system .

Till now I have finished installing google cloud and g actions.

You shouldn’t use these instructions.

Follow:

That’s what i tried first.
Initially I opened home control on my google assistant app and in add devices searched for openhab and i clicked on it , the app displays your accounts have been linked successfully but then it does not display the openhab as a device it just displays you haven’t added any device.

I have attched the screenshot from the tutorial as well as the scrennshots of when I did the same thing that as in the tutorial.

have you added tags to your items?
did you setup your myopenhab.org account and exposed items to it?

How and where exactly do i tag items?

I have created a basic ui with switchable light but that’s not how I do it?
i have attched a screenshot of my dashboard I haven’t aded any items.

Are you using PaperUI or *.items files to define/create your items?

Basic UI
I have attached the screenshot of how my basic UI looks and also the code in items.

BasicUI is used to parse and display *.sitemap files (not *.items). Of course, within your sitemap, you refer to items.

Try Switchable (instead of switchable)… maybe? this is the problem.

You can copy paste the code here with Code Fences (to avoid using screenshots)

Switch Light "light" <slider> [ "Switchable" ]

Alright.

So should I write this in sitemaps or items??

within your ~/Desktop/OpenHAB/conf/items/a.items file

Thank you. Works fine now
When I say turn on light it is reflected in openhab as well.

Just one last doubt how can I integrate my oppenhab with another device(like arduino) which would be connected to my light. Should I use mqtt broker to interface openhab with a micro-controller device??

1 Like

Yes!

MQTT rulez

1 Like