Control a water heater and ground source heat pump based on cheap hours of spot priced electricity

Hi all,

I’m about to implement a home automation system that will control the heating system of our house so that it will avoid the expensive hours when electricity costs the most.

I have a programming background but I’m new to OpenHab and would appreciate some guidance on the Right OpenHab Way to do things.

Let me first explain what I’m planning. I’m writing this quite verbosely so that this would benefit other community members in the future.

Background and context: heating system of our house and Nordpool day ahead spot prices

The electricity price follows the spot price of Nordpool. The price / kWh is different for each hour of the day and the prices for the next day are published on the previous evening. See Market data | Nord Pool

The prices have been jumping like crazy. The cheapest hours are like 0.5 c/kWh but the most expensive hours can be 70 c/kWh or even more.

Our house is heated with a ground source heat pump. It heats up water for the underfloor heating and it has an integrated 180 liter tank for hot water. The heat pump is Nibe F-1226 8kW. The heat pump has connectors for external control so it should be quite easy to control.

In addition to the 180 liter integrated water tank in the heat pump, we have a separate 300 liter water heater (Nibe Haato 300, 3kW). This heater has a mechanical thermostat which controls when the heater is on/off.

The plan for the external water heater

The spot prices for each hour of the day can be fetched with an API provided by Entso-E Transparency Platform. Anyone can create an user account to the platform and request API access to be granted, this is free of charge. See the API user guide if you want to learn more.

My plan for the water heater is quite simple.

• Read the spot prices for next day from Entso-E